Garmin GND10 unveiled (it is Nexus FDX!)

Mother of all detours; the USB port on the Garmin GND10 isn’t NMEA2000, it is something called Nexus FDX. That took a couple of weeks to figure out, hunting for NMEA2000 protocol headers. Always check your assumptions.

Anyway, I’ve written a decoder for it now which can be found on https://github.com/lkarsten/GND10read . It decodes GPS position, speed, wind angle and strength. Output can be a series of json encoded dictionaries, or NMEA0183 if you prefer.

I’m pretty sure I’ve gotten the header format of the FDX packets wrong,  but it seems to work. The git repo above has my notes and some dump files, if anyone has a proper FDX network and want to try it out.

Use case is simple. I connect my laptop to the GND10 USB port before I go out sailing, and I get all the sensor data into OpenCPN. I can also log it to file, if I want to compute my own polars or do endless post-regatta analysis.

This entry was posted in sailing, varnish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Garmin GND10 unveiled (it is Nexus FDX!)

  1. Jan Silfven says:

    It is FDX and there is even a free SW which you may use:
    http://www8.garmin.com/support/download_details.jsp?id=6885
    The SW will log data to a text or CSV-file and it will also convert data into NMEA0183 send out on a virtual port (if you have any SW running 0183)

    • Hi Jan.

      Thanks for the comment. I know about Nexus Race, but it requires a Windows computer and it does not seem to be very well maintained.
      GND10read should run just about all operating systems and versions. Also, it is free so you can modify it if you want, which isn’t the case for the Garmin software.

      Didn’t know about the 0183 export function though, that could have been useful earlier.

      /Lasse

Leave a Reply

